[responsivevoice_button voice=”UK English Female” buttontext=”Listen Brain”]


The brain and spinal cord are surrounded by three membranous connective tissue layers called the meninges, which include the following (Fig):

Dura mater

Arachnoid mater

Pia mater

Dura mater :

Dura mater is thick outermost meningeal layer that is richly innervated by sensory nerve fibers.

Arachnoid mater :

Arachnoid mater is fine, weblike avascular membrane directly beneath the dural surface; the space between the arachnoid and the underlying pia is called the subarachnoid space and contains cerebrospinal fluid, which bathes and protects the central nervous system (CNS).

Pia mater :

Pia mater is delicate membrane of connective tissue that intimately envelops the brain and spinal cord.

More from our blog

See all posts
No Comments

Leave a Comment